About US

School of Pharmaceutical Sciences
Author:  Date:December 28, 2015  Click:

Wuhan University School of Pharmaceutical Sciences


Wuhan University is one of the top Chinese universities under the direct administration of the Ministry of Education. The university has a long and distinguished history in delivering pharmaceutical education since its establishment of medical department in early 1900s. To reinforce its education and research excellence in pharmaceutical sciences, the School of Pharmaceutical Sciences was founded in 2001 by integrating several divisions of the University’s medical and science branches. Since its founding, the school has quickly earned a position of national prominence in pharmaceutical research and education.


Currently the school has five academic divisions: Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmaceutical Analysis and Screening, Biopharmaceutical Sciences, Traditional Chinese and Natural Products Medicine, and Clinical Pharmacy. In addition, the school has the fully equipped Experimental Center for Pharmaceutical Sciences as well as national and provincial research laboratories. Among its well-qualified academic staff are 25 professors and 19 associate professors, including 1 academician of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, 2 members of The Recruitment Program of Global Experts, 2 members of State Council Expert for Special Allowance, 3 members of The National Science Fund for Outstanding Young Scholars, 2 members of National Youth Talent Support Program, 5 members of Education Ministry's New Century Excellent Talents Supporting Plan, 3 Luojia Chair Professors and 6 Chutian Chair Professors. The school has more than 390 undergraduate students and 210 postgraduate students, including more than 80 Ph.D. students.


In the last few years, the school has been actively involved in the establishment of the State Key Laboratory of Virology and Wuhan Institute of Biotechnology, and has received grants for a great number of research projects from various funding agencies and programs, including the National Natural Science Foundation, the National Basic Research Program (“973 Program”), the National High-Tech R & D Program (“863 Program”), and the National Key Technology R & D Program.


The mission of the school is to achieve national excellence in education, research and professional services in pharmacy and pharmaceutical sciences through its well-recognized undergraduate, postgraduate and continuing education programs as well as through its high level research programs in basic, clinical, and translational categories. The school also has a great interest in international collaborations in both research and education, and has established strong collaborations with several top universities in US, Europe and Asia.